Skip directly to searchSkip directly to the site navigationSkip directly to the page's main content

Burlington County Public Health Profile Report

Deaths due to Motor Vehicle-Related Injuries: Deaths per 100,000 Population, 2013-2015

  • Burlington
    7.5
    95% Confidence Interval (6.1 - 9.0)
    State
    6.2
    U.S.
    11.1
  • Burlington Compared to State

    gauge ranking
    Description of Gauge

    Description of the Gauge

    This graphic is based on the county data to the left. It compares the county value of this indicator to the state overall value.
    • Excellent = The county's value on this indicator is BETTER than the state value, and the difference IS statistically significant.
    • Watch = The county's value is BETTER than state value, but the difference IS NOT statistically significant.
    • Improvement Needed = The county's value on this indicator is WORSE than the state value, but the difference IS NOT statistically significant.
    • Reason for Concern = The county's value on this indicator is WORSE than the state value, and the difference IS statistically significant.

    The county value is considered statistically significantly different from the state value if the state value is outside the range of the county's 95% confidence interval. If the county's data or 95% confidence interval information is not available, a blank gauge image will be displayed with the message, "missing information."
    NOTE: The labels used on the gauge graphic are meant to describe the county's status in plain language. The placement of the gauge needle is based solely on the statistical difference between the county and state values. When selecting priority health issues to work on, a county should take into account additional factors such as how much improvement could be made, the U.S. value, the statistical stability of the county number, the severity of the health condition, and whether the difference is clinically significant.

Why Is This Important?

Motor vehicle crashes are the 2nd leading cause of unintentional injury death in the United States and in New Jersey. Each year there are more than 260,000 motor vehicle crashes in New Jersey and one-quarter of crashes result in injuries.[http://www.state.nj.us/transportation/refdata/accident/ ^1^]

How Are We Doing?

Death rates due to motor vehicle-related injuries are on a slow downward trend in New Jersey and the United States dating back to the early 1990's. Rates do not vary much by race/ethnicity but they are very different for males and females with the rate among males 2.5 times that of females. Seventy percent of motor vehicle-related fatalities are among males. County rates vary from 3.8 per 100,000 population (age-adjusted) in Bergen County to 16.1 in Cumberland (2013-2015 data).

What Is Being Done?

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's "[http://www.nhtsa.gov/CIOT Click It or Ticket]" campaign is the most successful seat belt enforcement campaign ever, helping achieve an all-time high national seat belt usage rate of 85 percent. New Jersey's laws to protect drivers, passengers, bicyclists, and pedestrians are among the most stringent in the nation. Across the U.S., states require [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/childsafety_laws.html child safety seats] for infants and children fitting specific criteria. In New Jersey, the requirement is for children under 8 years old or shorter than 57" and the safety seat should be in the rear seat, if available. Like most states, New Jersey also requires booster seats or other appropriate devices for children who have outgrown their child safety seats but are still too small to use an adult seat belt safely. New Jersey and only a handful of other states require the use of seat belts on school buses. New Jersey is the only state that [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/license_laws.html requires drivers to reach the age of 17] before being allowed to drive unsupervised. It is also one of only 8 states (plus D.C.) that does not allow full driving privileges until the age of 18. All states except Utah define [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/impaired_laws.html drunk driving] as operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. New Jersey and Pennsylvania have increased penalties if the driver's BAC is 0.10 or higher. Increased penalties (if any) in other states are not levied unless the driver's BAC is 0.15 or higher. New Jersey is one of 14 states (plus D.C.) with primary hand-held [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/cellphone_laws.html cell phone bans], was one of the first states to enact [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/helmet_laws.html motorcycle helmet laws], and is one of 5 states that require all bicyclists under 17 years of age to wear a [http://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/Bicyclists-and-Pedestrians bike helmet].

Healthy People Objective IVP-13.1:

Reduce motor vehicle crash-related deaths: Deaths per 100,000 population
U.S. Target: 12.4 deaths per 100,000 population (age-adjusted)
State Target: 7.1 deaths per 100,000 population (age-adjusted)

Related Indicators

Risk Factors:

Health Status Outcomes:


Note

County is the decedent's county of residence, not the county where the injury occurred.

Data Sources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics. Compressed Mortality File. CDC WONDER On-line Database accessed at [http://wonder.cdc.gov/cmf-icd10.html]   Death Certificate Database, Office of Vital Statistics and Registry, New Jersey Department of Health   Population Estimates, State Data Center, New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, [http://lwd.state.nj.us/labor/lpa/dmograph/est/est_index.html]  

Measure Description for Deaths due to Motor Vehicle-Related Injuries

Definition: Deaths with motor vehicle-related injury as the underlying cause of death. Motor vehicle-related deaths include motor vehicle and motorcycle drivers and passengers, pedestrians, and bicyclists struck by motor vehicles both on roadways in traffic and in other areas such as parking lots and driveways. ICD-10 codes: V02-V04, V09.0, V09.2, V12-V14, V19.0-V19.2, V19.4-V19.6, V20-V79, V80.3-V80.5, V81.0-V81.1, V82.0-V82.1, V83-V86, V87.0-V87.8, V88.0-V88.8, V89.0, V89.2
Numerator: Number of deaths due to motor vehicle-related injuries
Denominator: Total number of persons in the population

Indicator Profile Report

Age-Adjusted Death Rate due to Motor Vehicle-Related Injuries (exits this report)

Date Content Last Updated

07/19/2017
The information provided above is from the Department of Health's NJSHAD web site (https://nj.gov/health/shad). The information published on this website may be reproduced without permission. Please use the following citation: " Retrieved Fri, 15 December 2017 5:20:43 from Department of Health, New Jersey State Health Assessment Data Web site: https://nj.gov/health/shad ".

Content updated: Wed, 15 Nov 2017 07:52:40 EST