Health Indicator Report of Deaths due to Motor Vehicle-Related Injuries
Motor vehicle crashes are the 2nd leading cause of unintentional injury death in the United States and in New Jersey. Each year there are more than 260,000 motor vehicle crashes in New Jersey and one-quarter of crashes result in injuries.[http://www.state.nj.us/transportation/refdata/accident/ ^1^]
Age-Adjusted Death Rate due to Motor Vehicle-Related Injuries by County, New Jersey, 2013-2015
NotesCounty is the decedent's county of residence, not the county where the injury occurred.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics. Compressed Mortality File. CDC WONDER On-line Database accessed at [http://wonder.cdc.gov/cmf-icd10.html]
- Death Certificate Database, Office of Vital Statistics and Registry, New Jersey Department of Health
- Population Estimates, State Data Center, New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, [http://lwd.state.nj.us/labor/lpa/dmograph/est/est_index.html]
DefinitionDeaths with motor vehicle-related injury as the underlying cause of death. Motor vehicle-related deaths include motor vehicle and motorcycle drivers and passengers, pedestrians, and bicyclists struck by motor vehicles both on roadways in traffic and in other areas such as parking lots and driveways. ICD-10 codes: V02-V04, V09.0, V09.2, V12-V14, V19.0-V19.2, V19.4-V19.6, V20-V79, V80.3-V80.5, V81.0-V81.1, V82.0-V82.1, V83-V86, V87.0-V87.8, V88.0-V88.8, V89.0, V89.2
NumeratorNumber of deaths due to motor vehicle-related injuries
DenominatorTotal number of persons in the population
Healthy People Objective: Reduce motor vehicle crash-related deaths: Deaths per 100,000 populationU.S. Target: 12.4 deaths per 100,000 population (age-adjusted)
State Target: 7.1 deaths per 100,000 population (age-adjusted)
Other Objectives'''Healthy New Jersey 2020 Objective IVP-5''': Reduce the age-adjusted mortality rate due to motor vehicle-related injuries per 100,000 standard population to 7.1 among the total population, 6.8 among Whites, 9.6 among Blacks, 8.2 among Hispanics, and 3.6 among Asians.
How Are We Doing?Death rates due to motor vehicle-related injuries are on a slow downward trend in New Jersey and the United States dating back to the early 1990's. Rates do not vary much by race/ethnicity but they are very different for males and females with the rate among males 2.5 times that of females. Seventy percent of motor vehicle-related fatalities are among males. County rates vary from 3.8 per 100,000 population (age-adjusted) in Bergen County to 16.1 in Cumberland (2013-2015 data).
How Do We Compare With the U.S.?The New Jersey motor vehicle-related mortality rate is about half that of the nation as a whole.
What Is Being Done?The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration's "[http://www.nhtsa.gov/CIOT Click It or Ticket]" campaign is the most successful seat belt enforcement campaign ever, helping achieve an all-time high national seat belt usage rate of 85 percent. New Jersey's laws to protect drivers, passengers, bicyclists, and pedestrians are among the most stringent in the nation. Across the U.S., states require [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/childsafety_laws.html child safety seats] for infants and children fitting specific criteria. In New Jersey, the requirement is for children under 8 years old or shorter than 57" and the safety seat should be in the rear seat, if available. Like most states, New Jersey also requires booster seats or other appropriate devices for children who have outgrown their child safety seats but are still too small to use an adult seat belt safely. New Jersey and only a handful of other states require the use of seat belts on school buses. New Jersey is the only state that [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/license_laws.html requires drivers to reach the age of 17] before being allowed to drive unsupervised. It is also one of only 8 states (plus D.C.) that does not allow full driving privileges until the age of 18. All states except Utah define [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/impaired_laws.html drunk driving] as operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. New Jersey and Pennsylvania have increased penalties if the driver's BAC is 0.10 or higher. Increased penalties (if any) in other states are not levied unless the driver's BAC is 0.15 or higher. New Jersey is one of 14 states (plus D.C.) with primary hand-held [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/cellphone_laws.html cell phone bans], was one of the first states to enact [http://www.ghsa.org/html/stateinfo/laws/helmet_laws.html motorcycle helmet laws], and is one of 5 states that require all bicyclists under 17 years of age to wear a [http://www.ghsa.org/state-laws/issues/Bicyclists-and-Pedestrians bike helmet].
Available ServicesFree Safety Checks for Infant and Child Car Seats: [http://www.state.nj.us/oag/hts/childseats/childseatchecks.html]
Health Program InformationNJ Division of Highway Traffic Safety: [http://www.nj.gov/oag/hts/index.html] New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, Information on Graduated Driver Licenses: [http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Licenses/gdl_definitions.htm]
Page Content Updated On 07/19/2017, Published on 10/02/2017