Skip directly to searchSkip directly to the site navigationSkip directly to the page's main content

Health Indicator Report of Seatbelt Usage

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of unintentional injury death in New Jersey and in the United States. Seat belt use can help to prevent injuries and death and the use of seat belts is mandatory in New Jersey.

Percentage of Adults who Always Use Seat Belts in Automobiles by County, New Jersey, 2015


Data Source

Behavioral Risk Factor Survey, Center for Health Statistics, New Jersey Department of Health, [http://www.state.nj.us/health/chs/njbrfs/]

Data Interpretation Issues

Data from the New Jersey Risk Factor Survey are intended to represent non-institutionalized adults in households with telephones. Data are collected using a random sample of all possible telephone numbers. Prior to analysis, data are weighted to represent the population distribution of adults by age, sex, and "race"/ethnicity. As with all surveys, however, some residual bias may result from nonresponse (e.g., refusal to participate in the survey or to answer specific questions) and measurement error (e.g., social desirability or recall). Attempts are made to minimize such error by use of a strict calling protocol (up to 15 calls are made to reach each household), good questionnaire design, standardization of interviewer behavior, interviewer training, and frequent, on-site interviewer monitoring and supervision.

Definition

Percentage of New Jersey adults aged 18 and over who use seatbelts in automobiles.

Numerator

Number of persons aged 18 and over who used seatbelts in automobiles.

Denominator

Total number of persons aged 18 and over in the sample survey

Healthy People Objective: Increase use of safety belts

U.S. Target: 92.4 percent

Other Objectives

Healthy New Jersey 2020 Objective IVP-7a: Increase seat belt use "most of the time" or "always": self-reported by adults aged 18 years and older.

How Are We Doing?

Seat belt use among adults 18 and over in New Jersey was about 95% in 2013.

What Is Being Done?

New Jersey's Seat Belt Law (NJS 39:3-76.2f) signed on January 18th, 2010 requires that all vehicle occupants must wear their seat belt regardless of seating position in a vehicle.

Health Program Information

New Jersey Seat Belt Law: http://www.state.nj.us/lps/hts/seatbelts.html NJ Division of Highway Traffic Safety: http://www.nj.gov/oag/hts/index.html
Page Content Updated On 03/29/2017, Published on 09/21/2017
The information provided above is from the Department of Health's NJSHAD web site (https://nj.gov/health/shad). The information published on this website may be reproduced without permission. Please use the following citation: " Retrieved Sat, 16 December 2017 4:09:48 from Department of Health, New Jersey State Health Assessment Data Web site: https://nj.gov/health/shad ".

Content updated: Wed, 15 Nov 2017 07:52:42 EST